the Heiress of Winterwood

Faith, fear, regret and trust collide in this sweet debut novel penned by Sarah Ladd.

Here’s the synopsis:

Heiress-of-Winterwood-e1358525232377Amelia Barrett gave her word. Keeping it could cost her everything.

Darbury, England, 1814

Amelia Barrett, heiress to an estate nestled in the English moors, defies family expectations and promises to raise her dying friend’s baby. She’ll risk everything to keep her word—even to the point of proposing to the child’s father—a sea captain she’s never met. When the child vanishes with little more than an ominous ransom note hinting to her whereabouts, Amelia and Graham are driven to test the boundaries of their love for this little one. Amelia’s detailed plans would normally see her through any trial, but now, desperate and shaken, she’s forced to examine her soul and face her one weakness: pride. Graham’s strength and self-control have served him well and earned him much respect, but chasing perfection has kept him a prisoner of his own discipline. And away from the family he has sworn to love and protect.

Both must learn to accept God’s sovereignty and relinquish control so they can grasp the future He has for planned for them.

My Thoughts

The Heiress of Winterwood was a beautiful piece of fiction that I cannot wait to read again. Mrs. Ladd created a beautiful story about old regrets and how living in the past can blind you from the blessings that The Lord has for you. Amelia and Graham both learn this lesson separately in an adventure that drew them together. One of my favorite aspects of the novel was that both characters stood out in the story in their own right. I loved them both equally and could sympathize with their plights, fears and attraction to each other. Even though the time line of the novel was only a few weeks it felt like months when the romantic development came into play and I don’t mean that in a bad way. With both characters they both had to work through their own issues that separated them and were slowly brought together and Lucy’s abduction only brought all of these feelings to the surface. The romantic pacing was perfect for this novel and I couldn’t have expected anything else in that regard.

However I do have some criticism for this novel.

  1. I couldn’t understand the villain in the story. After the plot was underway it was clear that Mr. Littleton was using Amelia for her inheritance but the author had me thinking that Amelia’s uncle also knew something of this scheme and was in fact involved but instead at the end it seemed that all blame was put on Littleton. I find that kind of hard to swallow.
  2. It was also predictable who took Lucy, very predictable and I think that that part could have gone a bit better had there been a bit more mystery surrounding the circumstances. I was left with the feeling of I know who did it and can guess how but in the story there is no proof – so far.
  3. And as for the background characters, William and Helena I felt need more fleshing out. I felt like they had greater potential in the story and we only got to see them a bit – William more than Helena.
  4. And then there was Helena’s pregnancy. That plot line I could follow since it was mentioned how much she obviously liked him however, it still felt sudden because there was no real development in that area that we could see as the readers so it felt odd but not really surprising for me to read that towards the end.

Overall I think that the story was a beautiful debut. But I think that with just a bit more character and plot development and if the novel had been a bit longer we could have had a more intricate novel.

The Heiress gets a four star rating from me – I really do love this story and will be reading the rest of the series.

Well thats all for me, I’m signing off!

May He guide your steps and mine,

Mercedes

Leave a Reply

