King Review

The Best of the Series!

I have been waiting on the final installment for months and it is here. I have to say this book is the best of the series. With this novel I felt that R.J. Larson has found her rhythm with the characters and the pacing of the story.

KingInitialAkabe of Siphra, I have brought your enemies low and lifted you from the dirt.

Against his wishes and desires, Akabe Garric has been chosen by his people to be king. A warrior at heart, he’d never dreamed of such a swift, unexpected rise to power. Determined to prove his worth to the citizens of Munra and honor his Creator, Akabe undertakes a monumental task: to rebuild the Infinite’s Holy House in Siphra.

Only this I ask: Restore My temple and let Me dwell again among the people.

Akabe soon discovers that the land he needs is held by the Thaenfalls, known Atea-worshipers who will give up their claim only if he marries into their line. Though he seeks direction from the Infinite, his pleas are met with silence. Frustrated, Akabe makes an impulsive decision, sweeping his nation into a lethal storm that threatens his plans for the temple. As questions of love and faith become tangled with lies, ancient feuds, and treacherous plots, can Akabe, his mysterious queen, and his trusted friends Ela and Kien Lantec find the Infinite’s path…or will they fail as so many others before?

Will your faith hold strong when I am silent?
Child, can you be My king?

My Thoughts

My favorite aspects of this story was that they character relationships were strong and you can tell this is because Mrs. Larson fell into her stride from working with these characters for so long. All of the dialogue was so natural and it made this book a treat to read. I really enjoyed reading this installment of the series a lot more than I did the first two books. I laughed – a lot, teared up and sighed at the cuteness. I’m glad that Ela and Kien had a wonderful ending and I loved the growth with their characters. Their reunion was so funny and Ela’s father was the hero of that scene (there is nothing like threatening a girl to marry the man she loves – but then again there was a lot of love throughout the story).  But this book was not all hugs and kisses, non stop trails and tribulation was the game through the story and everyone was tested on many lessons like faith, trust and forgiveness. Faith and following the will of the Lord was the theme of the of the book and everyone learned different ways that His will is sovereign over ours. Ela, Kien, Akabe and Cait learned this in ways that will stick with them for many years to come.

A lot of the minor characters that we met in Prophet and Judge were brought in this story as well and it was nice to see Akabe as one of the main drivers in the story as the plot thickened.

One of the things that I noticed was that parts of the ending seemed rushed and needed more explaining – it felt like Mrs. Larson was in a rush to finish but her story wasn’t quite ready yet.

Overall

I enjoyed King a whole lot better than they first two books simply because the world felt familiar and I realized that I missed Kien arguing/talking to Scythe on a regular basis.

Happy Reading!

May He lead your steps and mine,

Mercedes

Leave a Reply

