I Kissed Dating Goodbye Review

datinggoodbye2I Kissed Dating Goodbye

Joshua Harris

Paperback, 221 pages

Published Updated edition (April 2, 2003)

Multnomah Books

Back Cover Synopsis:

Tired of the game? Kiss dating goodbye. 

Going out? Been dumped? Waiting for a call that doesn’t come? Have you tasted pain in dating, drifted through one romance or, possibly, several of them? 

Ever wondered, Isn’t there a better way? 

I Kissed Dating Goodbye shows what it means to entrust your love life to God. Joshua Harris shares his story of giving up dating and discovering that God has something even better—a life of sincere love, true purity, and purposeful singleness.

My Thoughts

I was so excited to receive this book in the mail. I remember when I had first heard of this book years ago and at the time I thought, “this book is about not dating.” I had no ill feelings about the book I just kind of thought this would be some suggestion of a miracle cure for dating and boy was I pleasantly surprised.

Joshua Harris wrote this book honestly from the stand point of a man who realized that real love is worth waiting for. And I thought I knew that. I’m the only one out of my girl friends that is not in a relationship and even though I am not dating this book still hit home for me. Harris goes beyond the whole ‘save sex until marriage’ or ‘no kissing until the alter’ rules. He challenges the modern view of love and simply asks that if we really love God the way that we claim to why not let Him be in control of every part of our lives including our love-lives.

I recommend this book to all single believers. Its a book that needs to be in everyone’s arsenal. If you haven’t read it I suggest you grab a copy – you won’t regret it. This book may redefine the way that you love and the way you view God’s love for us.

About the Author

Joshua Harris is senior pastor of Covenant Life in Gaithersburg, Maryland. He is the best-selling author of Dug Down Deep: Building Your Life on Truths That Last and several books on relationships, including the run-away bestseller, I Kissed Dating Goodbye. He and his wife, Shannon, have three children. Find out more at www.joshharris.com.

I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

